Viswanathan Anand suffers sixth consecutive defeat in Legends of Chess tourney |

Best Latest News Provider

Viswanathan Anand suffers sixth consecutive defeat in Legends of Chess tourney

2 min read

Viswanathan Anand

Indian Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand lost 2-3 to Ian Nepomniachtchi of Russia in his latest encounter of the ongoing Legends of Chess tournament, thus suffering his sixth straight-loss in the event.

Viswanathan Anand’s struggles continued in the USD 150,000 Legends of Chess on-line event as he suffered his sixth consecutive defeat with a 2-Three loss to Ian Nepomniachtchi of Russia.

Anand began the sixth spherical match with a draw as he got here up with good defensive strikes to maintain the Russian at bay in a 53-move draw. However, Nepomniachtchi went forward by pulling off a 34-move win in the second recreation. The third noticed the gamers signal peace after 48 strikes.

The five-time world champion then fought again properly to say the fourth recreation in 42 strikes to push the competition into the Armageddon (a tie-breaker).

Nepomniachtchi gained the decisive tie-break in 41 strikes to shatter the hopes of the 50-year outdated Indian famous person and left him winless after six rounds.

World champion Magnus Carlen continued his profitable run and tops the standings with 17 match factors. Nepomniachtchi is second on 16 adopted by compatriot Vladimir Karmnik (12).

Anand, who’s making his debut on the Magnus Carlsen Tour, lies ninth with three factors.

Legends of Chess is a singular occasion the place Carlsen, Ding Liren, Nepomniachtchi and Anish Giri, semifinalists on the Chessable Masters (half of the Magnus Carlsen Tour), obtained an automated invite and are up in opposition to six legends aged 40-52, who’ve been on the high of world chess at varied factors in their profession.

The winner of this occasion will qualify for the USD 300,000 Grand Final, scheduled from August 9 to 20.
Results – Round 6: Ian Nepomniachtchi beat Viswanathan Anand 3-2; Magnus Carlsen beat Ding Liren 2.5-1.5: Anish Giri beat Peter Leko 2.5-1.5; Vladmir Kramnik beat Boris Gelfand 3-2; Peter Svidler beat Vasyl Ivanchuk 3-2.